About Lord Shiva

ॐ नम: शम्भवाय च मयोभवाय च
   नम: शंकराय च मयस्कराय च
   नम: शिवाय च शिवतराय च।।
 Shiva: शिव Śiva, meaning "auspicious one"  is a major Hindu deity, and the Destroyer or transformer among the Trimurti, the Hindu Trinity of the primary aspects of the divine. In the Shaiva tradition of Hinduism, Shiva is seen as the Supreme God. In the Smarta tradition, he is regarded as one of the five primary forms of God. Followers of Hinduism who focus their worship upon Shiva are called Shaivites or Shaivas (Sanskrit Śaiva). Shaivism, along with Vaiṣṇava traditions that focus on Vishnu and Śākta traditions that focus on the goddess Shakti, is one of the most influential denominations in Hinduism.Shiva is usually worshipped in the abstract form of Shiva linga. In images, he is represented as a handsome young man immersed in deep meditation or dancing the Tandava upon Apasmara, the demon of ignorance in his manifestation of Nataraja, the lord of the dance. It is said that he looks like an eternal youth because of his authority over death, rebirth and immortality. He is also the father of Ganesha and Murugan.

         108 Names of Lord Shiva (Kailashnath Mahadev)       

One of the most important Hindu deities, Lord Shiva is known by several names. The Shiva Purana list 108 names for Lord Shiva. Each of these names in Sanskrit signifies certain attribute of the Lord. Given here are 108 names of Lord Shiva with their meaning.(Kailashnath) is also one of the name  and this signifies king of mountain which is the main reason behind the tallest lord shiva statue being located on a mountain of Nepal.

Lord Shiva's Birth

History of Lord Shiva

Lordshivaa,Mantra,Slogam,slokamShiva is the God of all and is worshipped by all, from Devas( gods) such as Brahma, Indra, by Asuras(demons) like Bana, Ravana, by humans like Adi Shankara, Nayanars, by creatures such as Jatayu, an eagle, Vali, an ape, and the list goes on and on.Furthermore, people of different backgrounds and qualities worship the Shiva, with many temples having histories of even cranes, bees, elephants, (Kalahasti), spiders, snakes, worshipping Shiva and getting blessed. It concludes that the Lord, as the Supreme one, blesses anyone who worships him in sincere devotion as there is no discrimination on who the seeker is.He always finds ways to protect dharma and not allow anybody evil to triumph over good.

Shiva is the ultimate reality who is the nature of Bliss itself and all complete in Himself. He is beyond description, beyond all manifestation, beyond limitation of form, time and space. He is eternal, infinite, all pervading, all knowing and all powerful 

Shivratri is the time when Shiva takes a rest.
Shiva rests for one 'prahar' (three hours) of the night..
This 'prahar' is referred to as the Shivratri.
When Lord Shiva takes rest, the function of
'Shivtatva' (Shiva Principle) ceases,
i.e. Lord Shiva goes into a meditative state.

Shiva's meditative state is the time when
He is engrossed in His own spiritual practice.
During that time,

the 'Shivtatva' does not accept any tamogun
(most base of the 3 elements in us - sattva, raja & tama)
any halahal (venom churned from the ocean)
coming from the Universe.

As a result,
the ratio of halahal or the pressure

of the negative energies increases.
For protection from this pressure, things like
'bilva patra', white flowers, 'rudraksha' beads etc
are offered to Lord Shiva.

These things attract the 'Shivtatva' from the atmosphere,
thus providing protection from the increasing
effect of the negative energies.
The Earth is a gross object.
Gross objects have very low velocities
i.e. they require more time to cover a specific distance in space.

Gods on the other hand, are subtle hence they
are capable of traversing space within a few seconds.

That is why one year on the earth
is equivalent to just one day of heaven.

Nataraja (The Dancing Form Of Lord Shiva)

To sum up, here's an excerpt from a beautiful poem by Ruth Peel:
"The source of all movement,
Shiva's dance,
Gives rhythm to the universe.
He dances in evil places,
In sacred,
He creates and preserves,
Destroys and releases.

We are part of this dance
This eternal rhythm,
And woe to us if, blinded
By illusions,
We detach ourselves
From the dancing cosmos,
This universal harmony…"

Bhagwan Shiva

Bhagwan Shiva is the maker of dance and of the initial 16 rhythmic syllables still uttered, since which the Sanskrit language was born. His dance of anger is called the Roudra Tandava and his dance, and they begged him to dance over. Lord Shiva promised to do so in the heart of his devotees and in a blessed grove in Tamil Nadu, everywhere the great temple of Chidambaram was build, the merely one in all Indian devoted to Shiva as Nataraja, the lord of dance. It is supposed that on the 13th day of every bright lunar fortnight after 6 o’clock in the evening, falls a blessed hour called Pradosha Worshipping Lord Shiva at this time is akin to worshipping all the powers

Shiva has four arms and three eyes. The third eye, in the center of his forehead is forever closed and simply opens to destroy an evil doer. A garland of skulls, rudraksha bead, or a snake hangs from his neck. Lord Shiva also carries snakes as armlets and bracelets. The serpent, contest, despised and fear by all further creatures, establish a place of honour on Shiva’s holy being, just because he was enthused by their plight.

Shree Pashupatinath  is an incarnation of the HinduLord Shiva. He is revered throughout the Hindu world, but especially in Nepal where he is regarded as the national deity.